Various Artists - Mozart 111 Masterworks Box Set - 55CD
Various Artists - Mozart 111 Masterworks Box Set - 55CD

Various Artists - Mozart 111 Masterworks Box Set - 55CD

Item # L8556961

Write a Review
Our Price


Add your choice of Kicking Horse Coffee 454g to your order today for only $11.99

Click BONUS in the checkout to access and add to cart.

In Stock

13 Items available for In Stock



The idea of combining DGs all-encompassing 111 concept with the works of an individual composer has entailed a new focus for this popular brand. The aim is twofold: first, to offer as comprehensive a Mozart edition as possible; secondly, to reflect the labels extraordinary tradition of Mozart interpretation.

Thus you'll find big-band Mozart at its best, represented by the classic recordings of Herbert von Karajan and the Berlin Philharmonic, alongside the acclaimed period-instrument performances of Trevor Pinnock and Marc Minkowski; the timeless opera recordings of Karl Bohm from the 1960s and 1970s as well as John Eliot Gardiners revelatory approach to these works from the late 1980s and 1990s; Geza Andas magical K. 467 Piano Concerto from 1967 (made famous as the soundtrack to the Swedish film romance Elvira Madigan) set against the historically informed approach of Malcolm Bilson and Gardiner in the same genre.

In many cases these are simply great performances, whether of wind concertos (with Orpheus), piano concertos (with Gilels, Pollini and Pires) or string quartets (Hagen Quartet). A special place has been reserved for Vladimir Horowitz, all of whose DG solo Mozart recordings are brought together here on a single disc for the first time.

Bernstein and Abbado lead the way in sacred music; concert arias are present in Gundula Janowitzs exquisite recordings.

Conducting duties for the six essential operas are divided between five of the outstanding Mozartians of the 20th century: Abbado, Bohm, Gardiner, Harnoncourt and Levine.

Mozart 111 combines the best of the Austrian masters music with the best of Deutsche Grammophons Mozart recordings, bringing together a total of 111 works, while retaining, as far as possible, the original album releases with their cover art. There's enough of everything here to stock a shop, as they say, in performances that have stood the test of time and performances that make you sit up and listen to Mozart afresh the perfect way to discover, rediscover and savour the incomparable genius of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.


1 Symphonies 25, 26, 29 PINNOCK
2 Symphonies 28, 31, 33, 34 LEVINE
3 Symphonies 32, 35, 36 KARAJAN
4 Symphonies 38, 39 PINNOCK
5 Symphonies 40, 41 MINKOWSKI
6 Piano Concertos 6, 17, 21 ANDA
7 Piano Concertos 27, 10 GILELS
8 Piano Concertos 19, 23 POLLINI
9 Piano Concertos 20, 24 BILSON
10 Piano Concertos 14, 26 PIRES
11 Violin Concertos 3, 4, 5 PERLMAN
12 Sinfonia Concertante PERLMAN, ZUKERMAN
13 Wind Concertos NEIDICH, JOLLEY
15 Flute, Flute & Harp Concertos PALMA, ALLEN
16 Gran Partita ORPHEUS
17 Divertimentos K.375, K.388, K.270 ORPHEUS
18 Divertimento K.334, K.239 Serenata KARAJAN
19 Haffner Serenade BÖHM
20 Eine kleine Nachtmusik, Posthorn Serenade LEVINE
21 23 6 Haydn Quartets HAGEN
24 String Quintet K.515, Divertimento K.563 AMADEUS
25 String Quintets K.516, K.593 AMADEUS, ARONOWITZ
26 Quartets with winds KOCH, SEIFERT, DE PEYER, AMADEUS
28 Piano Quartets FAURE QUARTET
29 Violin Sonatas DUMAY, PIRES
30 Violin Sonatas PERLMAN, BARENBOIM
31 Piano Sonatas PIRES
32 Piano Sonatas HOROWITZ
33 Piano Sonatas GULDA
35 Great Mass in C minor PINNOCK
36 Great Mass in C minor BERNSTEIN
37 Requiem ABBADO
38 Concert Arias JANOWITZ
39-4 Idomeneo GARDINER
42-43 Die Entführung aus dem Serail BÖHM
44-46 Le nozze di Figaro HARNONCOURT
47-49 Don Giovanni ABBADO
50-52 Così fan tutte LEVINE
53-54 Die Zauberflöte BÖHM
55 A Little Light Music ORPHEUS

  • Genre


  • Label

    Universal Music